Your Labour Councillors

Gipsy Hill has three Labour Councillors:  Matthew BennettNiranjan FrancisJenny Brathwaite. Matthew, Jenny & Francis work closely with Tessa Jowell, our local MP and Val Shawcross, our member of the Greater London Assembly.

Gipsy Hill covers parts of West Norwood, Upper Norwood & West Dulwich. You can find out if you live in Gipsy Hill ward by clicking here & entering your postcode.

Councillors work in the community to try and resolve local issues, secure improvements for our area, like the swimming pool and leisure centre that is on track to be built by West Norwood station or extra primary school places for local families.

We also represent you on Lambeth council as part of the Labour group, sitting on committees which scrutinise the work of the council to make sure that it is doing as good a job as can be expected. Matthew & Jenny also sit on the Licensing & Planning committees, respectively, which are repsonsible for granting alcohol and entertainment; and planning permissions within Lambeth. All council and committee evenings are held in the evenings during the week and are normally always open to the public. Full details are available on the Lambeth website.

We also try and attend as many of the community-based meetings across Gipsy Hill, West Norwood, Upper Norwood & West Dulwich as possible like the Safer Neighbourhood Panel, Tenants & Residents Associations, Tenants’ Housing Forum, Leaseholders’ Housing Forum, the Norwood Forum, Norwood Action Group, Upper Norwood Improvement Team, Friends of Norwood Park & Gipsy Hill Residents.

Matthew, Jenny & Niranjan hold four advice surgeries for residents of Gipsy Hill at locations across the ward so that, once a month, we should be no more than a short walk from your home.

If there is anything that you’d like to come and talk to us about then please come along; no appointment is ever needed and we’ll always do our best to help. Full details are on the ‘Contact Us’ page, above.

May 2010 Election Results, Gipsy Hill ward:

Election Candidate Party Votes %
Matthew Peter Bennett Labour 2670 16% Elected
Niranjan Romano Francis Labour 2597 15% Elected
Jennifer Janet Brathwaite Labour 2588 15% Elected
Andrew Gibson Conservative 1654 10% Not elected
Suzanne Mary Poole Conservative 1611 10% Not elected
Carl Richard Belgrove Conservative 1585 9% Not elected
Yvonne Muriel Aan De Wiel Liberal Democrat 1055 6% Not elected
Wendy Elizabeth Horler Liberal Democrat 1016 6% Not elected
Danielle Lowson Liberal Democrat 852 5% Not elected
David Andrew Sinclair Green 462 3% Not elected
Geoff Dennis Green 347 2% Not elected
Anthony Shuster Green 332 2% Not elected